BRITs 2019: Was it music or politics?

What started out as a night to celebrate British music, with Hugh Jackman (pictured below) opening the evening with a one-off performance of The Greatest Show,  quickly turned into a ceremony rebelling against the current political climate.

The 1975 were the biggest winners of the evening, taking home the statue for Best Album and Best British Band. Matty Healy also earned himself widespread praise for addressing he patriarchy in the music industry.

Referencing a recent Guardian opinion piece written by journalist Laura Snapes after abuse allegations against Ryan Adams came to light, Healy said: ‘In music, male misogynist acts are examined for nuance and examined as traits of difficult artists while women and those who call them out are treated as hysterics who don’t understand art.’

See their full acceptance speech below:

Another memorable moment of the evening was marked by Jess Glynne’s performance with House of Solo 2018 cover star H.E.R.

Jess Glynne’s Thursday is a hymn to self-acceptance that shares its DNA with TLC’s Unpretty and Christina Aguilera’s Beautiful – and her staging of the song at the Brits was particularly powerful.

The singer stared down the barrel of the camera, removing her fake eyelashes and wiping off eye make-up while singing the lyrics: “I won’t wear makeup on Thursday / ‘Cause who I am is enough”.

She was soon joined by dozens of other women, including US singer H.E.R, who simultaneously removed their make-up, and stood quietly in solidarity across the stage.

In a night filled with bombastic, spectacular performances, this was the real show-stopper.

The award for Outstanding Contribution to Music went to P!nk who humbly accepted the statue saying: ” To be considered in the same category as David Bowie and the Beatles and Sir Elton and Sir Paul and Fleetwood Mac is beyond anything I can comprehend.” She went on to close the ceremony with one of the most compelling performances of the evening.

Here’s a full list of those who took home prizes.

British album of the year

  • WINNER: The 1975 – A Brief Inquiry Into Online Relationships
  • Anne-Marie – Speak Your Mind
  • Florence + The Machine – High As Hope
  • George Ezra – Staying At Tamara’s
  • Jorja Smith – Lost & Found

British female solo artist

  • WINNER: Jorja Smith
  • Anne-Marie
  • Florence + The Machine
  • Jess Glynne
  • Lily Allen

British male solo artist

  • WINNER: George Ezra
  • Aphex Twin
  • Craig David
  • Giggs
  • Sam Smith

British group

  • WINNER: The 1975
  • Arctic Monkeys
  • Gorillaz
  • Little Mix
  • Years & Years

British breakthrough act

  • WINNER: Tom Walker
  • Ella Mai
  • Idles
  • Jorja Smith
  • Mabel

Critics’ choice

  • WINNER: Sam Fender
  • Lewis Capaldi
  • Mahalia

British single

  • WINNER: Calvin Harris and Dua Lipa – One Kiss
  • Anne-Marie – 2002
  • Clean Bandit ft Demi Lovato – Solo
  • Dua Lipa – IDGAF
  • George Ezra – Shotgun
  • Jess Glynne – I’ll Be There
  • RAMZ – Barking
  • Rudimental – These Days
  • Siagla and Paloma Faith – Lullaby
  • Tom Walker – Leave A Light On

British video

  • WINNER: Little Mix ft Nicki Minaj – Woman Like Me
  • Anne-Marie – 2002
  • Calvin Harris and Dua Lipa – One Kiss
  • Clean Bandit ft Demi Lovato – Solo
  • Dua Lipa – IDGAF
  • Jax Jones ft Ina Wroldsen – Breathe
  • Jonas Blue ft Jack & Jack – Rise
  • Liam Payne and Rita Ora – For You
  • Rita Ora – Let Me Love You
  • Rudimental – These Days

International male solo artist

  • WINNER: Drake
  • Eminem
  • Kamasi Washington
  • Shawn Mendes
  • Travis Scott

International female solo artist

  • WINNER: Ariana Grande
  • Camila Cabello
  • Cardi B
  • Christine & The Queens
  • Janelle Monae

International group

  • WINNER: The Carters
  • Brockhampton
  • First Aid Kit
  • Nile Rodgers & Chic
  • Twenty One Pilots

Brits global success award

  • WINNER: Ed Sheeran

British producer of the year

  • WINNER: Calvin Harris

Outstanding contribution to music

  • WINNER: Pink

Write a response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

House of Solo Limited © Copyright 2019. All rights reserved.